Skip to content

Queer

March 3, 2010

You know, I like that word. I mean for many it has negative connotations, but – as a word – I like it. It fits. The cheshire cat might just as well have said “we’re all queer here”. Because – well – we are. In some way or another. But queer – in the sexy way – is brought to mind because I’ve been watching Queer as Folk on Neftlix and YouTube. (Possible spoiler alerts! But I’m only on season 2)

I’d never seen it – or The “L” word – and decided to take advantage and put them in my queue. Thought about Bigger Love too but nixed that one. Did get Dexter though! So far, I really love Queer as Folk. The “L” word, not so much. I do like Shane. I’ve only gone through the first disk of the first season so it might grow on me. But I REALLY like Queer as Folk. It’s FUNNY. And yes, the sex scenes are hot. Did I mention it’s funny??

I’d like to say I’m picking up some great life lessons but not so much. Well there was the one about being true to yourself. Think Melanie and Lyndsey when Lyndsey pretended to be with Brian and they lost the slot in the school anyway. Or when Emmett refused to take the million dollar settlement because it would mean not being true to the memory of George. Or Justin when he went after what he really knew he needed even though he wanted Brian. Still not sure how I feel about that one. Or Brian’s Mom. Unabashedly proudly PFLAG. I’d never even heard of that before.

I must admit I’m totally amazed at the very casual atmosphere of Babylon. I have to ask – is this really what being a gay male is like in a big city? If so, I’m going to become a male, and move to Pittsburgh. I think I’ve been missing something. Even the girls – at the party they threw pre-wedding. Women were dancing around topless and having a great time. I’ve been going to the wrong parties. The thing is (and I’ve found this about YOU my friends too) – it’s okay to be gay – or lesbian – or kinky. That’s part of what makes this show great for me. Whatever floats your boat is okay. I may not get why you like pussy (the boys were making faces) or cock (here the girls made faces) but I still love you. Total, unconditional, acceptance. Even when you piss me off.

Now I did cringe when Lyndsey and Melanie on the spur of the moment invited Leta to share their bed. Did you know it was a bad idea too? Rules up front girls! The whole Michael/Brian Brian/Justin Justin/Violin Player thing is – interesting. Part of me wants to see Michael and Brian together. At least once damnit. Part of me wanted Justin to grab Brian by the hair and say look asshole, you love me, now prove it. But the violin player is cute. And sometimes you have to give yourself permission to let go of something you really want because it’s not giving you what you need.

And funny! I’m beginning to wish for paper handy so I can write down stuff. Quotes have started popping up in my tumblr. And sad! I cried when George went out with a bang. I don’t know if it’s the sex, or the characters, or the energy, but I do love this show. I’m going to be very sad when I get to the end. Nobody tell me how it all ends, I want to be surprised. But if you haven’t seen it, try it. You might find yourself wanting to be part of their world too!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Blazer permalink
    March 3, 2010 11:58 pm

    I guess if I think about it, I would have to agree that “queer” is pretty all encompassing. I may be putting my membership card at risk, but I have never watched QAF. I’ll have to see about correcting this oversight in the near future.

    • sweetspice permalink*
      March 3, 2010 11:59 pm

      It’s funny! I probably mentioned that didn’t I? It is definitely more focused on the male side but there’s more to it than just that. Now you might want to have the remote hand so you can fast forward through the guy parts but really, there’s no full sex scenes. Just very suggestive ones. And boobies!

  2. March 4, 2010 8:37 pm

    Yeah we tried watching Bigger Love while it was on tv in our hotel room during the roadtrip… we just couldn’t get into it at all.

    • sweetspice permalink*
      March 5, 2010 4:40 pm

      I’m just not a fan of the idea of one-penis many women. I think if you’re going to have bigger love – the girls get to have some on the side too.

Leave a Reply

