Skip to content

Bound To Shadows – A Review

November 20, 2009

I read – a lot. And there are certain characters that are just fun to follow. Can you pick what kind of character I’d like?
Probably would come as no surprise that I love Riley from Keri Arthur’s Guardian series. I mean young kick-ass take-no-prisoners female, armed with knives and swords and guns, and oh yeah teeth. Oh and did I mention she’s a dhampire with a really hot sex life? Really if you want to know more about Riley, you need to go check out the site and start at the beginning.

I just finished Bound to Shadows – #8 in the series. I loved the book, as always with this series it was very hard to put down. The author really lets us get into Riley’s head. There are always lots of elements going as well: of course sex – I’m not going to spoil it with who’s and hows, but it’s always hot. Then there’s the storyline – because Riley is, well, a cop. Technically, she’s a guardian, with more power and less boundaries. So that makes this a hot, supernatural, crime drama, romance. What can go wrong with that?

I don’t want to say too much about the other stories, since this is #8 I don’t want to screw up you reading all the other books if you haven’t. I’ll say that I while the book was great – there were some things that I wish hadn’t happened. Not that I feel they didn’t fit, but you know how sometimes you’d wish things had gone differently for a certain character. Another good indication of Keri Arthur’s writing ability, she makes us a part of that world. I am now eagerly awaiting next summer when the next book in the series comes out. Must. Find. Out. What. Happens!

Scaling: (1 to 5 with 5 being top)
Hotness: 4.5 (because the scenes are always hot but sometimes the situations make me want to smack someone)
Story: 4.5 (I love all the small stories, plus the bigger threads flowing through)

Elements: supernatural, violence, mystery, romance, sex

Must-read for fans of strong female characters, sex, and vampires/werewolves
Similar to: Sherrilyn Kenyon, Christine Feehan, Christine Warren, Lynsay Sands

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

