Skip to content

Photos

October 12, 2009

My heart still holds your memory,
Like a photo fading slowly.
Painted once in brilliant hues,
Now only black and white remains.

Once your voice echoed in my head,
Laughing, teasing, loving words.
Now as I touch that memory,
I can feel only silence fill me.

I pull the box from beneath the bed,
touching the lines of your face.
The corners of our pictures
now crumpled and stained.

Kiss your face, smell your skin,
one last time to hold me,
I drift to sleep in your memory,
as the photo falls from my fingers.

All themes for Microfantasy Monday are brought to you by Ang.
This weeks theme: photos.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. thepinkpoppet permalink
    October 12, 2009 2:05 pm

    Bittersweet and lovely.

    http://thepinkpoppet.wordpress.com/

    • sweetspice permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:21 pm

      I think my mood is rather bittersweet lately. Thank you darlin’.

  2. October 12, 2009 8:48 pm

    I agree with Poppet. Very bittersweet, but hauntingly wonderful.

    • sweetspice permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:23 pm

      Thank you sweetie.

  3. October 12, 2009 10:31 pm

    Melancholy and beautiful. Definitely conjures up some memories and old emotions.

    Thanks for a wonderful MFM

  4. October 13, 2009 8:20 pm

    yes, bittersweet and beautiful.. very well written. Thank you

  5. October 14, 2009 12:18 am

    Touching, love. Very much hints where we all live, and you couldn’t ask more from poetry. Well done. I can give you no better compliment than “I enjoyed it”

    • sweetspice permalink*
      October 14, 2009 10:22 pm

      Thank you! That’s high praise indeed.

Leave a Reply

