Skip to content

Following The Signs

April 5, 2009
tags: ,

Microfantasy Monday – brought to you by Sweltering Celt. Today’s theme: cards.
The clack-clack-clack sound of cards in bicycle spokes followed me down the street to the address I’d been given. It seemed an omen, in a series of signs that had led me here.I looked around me, my eyes searching across the trimmed lawns, the wood fences with welcoming gates. Bright flowers marched gaily along property lines, White wicker rocking chairs with soft cushions sat on porches where neighbors talked to neighbors. Such a quiet neighborhood to locate such a business in.

I thought back to the evening, not long ago, when all my dreams had seemed to be focused on one moment in time. I smiled, waiting for my jaws to cramp, as I sipped my wine, and smoozed with the clients. The buzz of conversation almost had me falling asleep on my feet. I’d been tired for awhile, tired of the job, the on-again, off-again boy friends that led to solo nights with a vibrator. It seemed so monotonous. I nodded at the appropriate spots in conversation, as my brain went off on it’s own tangents. I’d thought of changing jobs, wanting to find something. I still had no idea what that something was, but it wasn’t like I was hurting for money, I could afford to take the time, between what I’d made at this job, and family money.

I realized my glass was empty, and looked around to find the bus boy, when my eyes happened across a gentleman on the far side of the room. A businessman, but with an edge to him. He looked me straight in the eye, then raised his glass in toast. He seemed to have me mesmerized, and when he motioned with his hand, inviting me to come to him, it was hard to resist. I made my excuses, citing my empty glass, and made my way to the bar. And to him. He didn’t so much as smile as I approached, just handed me a glass of wine. “Are you finally ready for a change,” he asked? The rich timbre of his voice sent shivers down my back.

“A change? I’m not sure what you mean,” I replied, as I sipped my wine. He seemed to look through me as he answered, “I’ve been watching you. You are not being fulfilled, not sexually, or in your job. I’ve got a proposition that will take care of both.” Inside I was freaked out but at the same time excited. He’d been watching me? What did that mean? And what kind of proposition would cover both? He seemed to be able to read all the confusion and smiled softly.

From his pocket he pulled a business card. On it, in crimson letters, against a black background, were three simple words “Your desires filled” and an address. “We always are looking for more employees. We match the desires of the employees to the customers. That way everyone is satisfied. When you’re ready to fill your desires, come to me.” With that, he left. I watched in stunned silence, feeling vaguely empty now without his presence. I slid the card in to my bag, telling myself it was a hoax, and that I’d never call, but it would make a great story someday.

As I walked down the street, remembering the night, I looked down at the card that had led me here. There was a number of things, signs even, that had me constantly pulling the card out to read. Eventually, the pull had been to much. I’d quit my job, tied up all loose ends, and sublet my apartment. Everything I owned went into storage, except the clothes I’d brought with me. I’d flown to this town, come to this street, to change my life. Walking up the sidewalk, I could see the red door of a normal looking house. I felt my heart quicken, as I let the card fall to the ground, to be picked up by the breeze. I raised my hand to knock on the door.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. dragonmage permalink
    April 5, 2009 9:56 pm

    A very interesting take on the theme. I wonder exactly what she will find inside the house?

    • Stacy permalink*
      April 6, 2009 2:46 am

      Hmm. If I had something to giveaway, I could make that a contest. You all could come up with what lies beyond the red door.

  2. April 6, 2009 9:55 am

    Oooh – I like it! I know what I would find inside, but I’m curious to see what would be waiting for everyone else…

  3. April 6, 2009 1:46 pm

    I like it too.. and I’m damned curious to see what the proposition is .. maybe you could pick this up another time?

    • Stacy permalink*
      April 7, 2009 10:58 pm

      I might do that. I might actually expand and and more details.

  4. April 7, 2009 9:06 am

    I like that. I like the idea of a company that does that sort of thing too:)

    • Stacy permalink*
      April 7, 2009 10:59 pm

      Me too. Wonder if I’d dare enter that door.

Leave a Reply

